CWA Daggers Longlists to be Announced

Longlists for the coveted 2020 CWA 
Daggers will be revealed at noon on Friday 
5 June for its ten categories, including non-
fiction, short stories and debut crime fiction.
The world-famous Crime Writers’ 
Association (CWA) Daggers, which honour 
the very best in crime writing, are the oldest 
awards in the genre. Created in 1955, the 
CWA Daggers have been synonymous with 
quality crime writing for over half a century.
Past winners of the Gold Dagger (best 
crime novel) include Jane Harper, Mick 
Herron, Ann Cleeves, Ian Rankin, Belinda 
Bauer and Val McDermid. The Daggers are
 also renowned for showcasing new talent 
with the coveted John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger, which in the past has spotted now 
established names including Dreda Say Mitchell, Louise Welsh and Gillian Flynn.
Judging year 2019-2020 has seen a major reorganisation of the Daggers’ judging panels 
with an infusion of new blood to create a diverse cross-section of jurors.

CWA Honorary Vice Chair, Maxim Jakubowski, said the refreshed juries were to
 “move with the times and reflect the diversity of tastes and choices of the reading public.”

Linda Stratmann, Chair of the Crime Writers’ Association, added: “It’s been an exciting 
period after a major shake-up of the judging panels with existing judges moved to different 
categories, and new judges brought in. We are committed to ensuring the awards remain 
exciting, relevant and independent.”

New judges include former Guardian crime correspondent turned author, Duncan 
Campbell,leading book blogger and reviewer Anne Cater, popular culture chronicler 
Woody Haut, broadcaster Angela Rippon and head reviewer for Love Reading, Liz 

All titles for the CWA Dagger awards are put forward by publishers.
The shortlist will be announced later in the year, before the glittering awards ceremony 
which is due to take place on 22 October with guest speaker, the TV presenter turned 
crime novelist, Richard Osman. 
The ceremony will be conducted online, if required.
The longlist will be available on the CWA website from noon on 5 June, as well as via 
its FacebookTwitter #CWADaggers and YouTube channel.