Posts

Showing posts from 2020

Author Interview: D.C. Brockwell author of No Way Out!

Image
It's with great pleasure that I welcome Duncan Brockwell to The Crime Warp. D C Brockwell is a full time dental technician from Burgess Hill, West Sussex, an avid gardener and part-time mixologist, meaning he loves mixing cocktails of an evening for his wife, Beks. He writes crime thrillers, horrors and romantic dramas. His first book, The Southern Belles was self-published in July 2019, and has received positive feedback. Since then, he signed a 3 book deal with Bloodhound Books for his Nasreen Maqsood series, the first of which will be released on Wednesday 8th July 2020, called No Way Out. Subsequent instalments, Bird of Prey and Bad Blood will be released on September 1st and November 9th respectively. On January 4th, his birthday, and the day the story starts on, Mr Invisible will be released by Bloodhound, and will be his first standalone novel.

Tell us a bit about your current book release – No Way Out is a gritty crime thriller about Detective Constable Nasreen Maqsood, newly …

Harrogate International Festivals announces it's Virtual Programme

Image
Harrogate, Thursday 2 July 2020: Harrogate International Festivals is thrilled to announce first names for its new, free virtual festival bringing world-class culture to everyone at home, theHIF Weekender.
From 23 to 26 July, the HIF Weekender will present a celebration of the arts, featuring performances and interviews with internationally acclaimed musicians, best-selling authors and innovative thinkers to coincide with what would have been the legendary long weekend of Harrogate’s Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.
The HIF Weekender begins with a bang, crowning the winner of the UK’s most prestigious crime fiction prize – Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year – in a virtual ceremony recognising the best of the best. The celebrations continue with crime writing royalty Ian Rankin, who was set to be the 2020 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Programming Chair, interviewed by N. J. Cooper about Rebus, writing and Rankin’s ‘lost’ festival year. Lee Child 

Book Review: The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter. The latest Will Trent/Sara Linton novel

Image
Sometimes it's great to find two novels from a favourite author that you've managed to miss and then read them almost back to back and that's exactly what I did with The Last Widow and The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter. These two books follow on from each other but couldn't be more different in terms of plot. Once more Slaughter has managed to not only produce a fantastic thriller, but she's ramped up the tension between Will and Sara in a very clever way ... but more about that in a bit. For now, here's the blurb.

The Blurb
He watches.A woman runs alone in the woods. She convinces herself she has no reason to be afraid, but she’s wrong. A predator is stalking the women of Grant County. He lingers in the shadows, until the time is just right to snatch his victim. He waits.A decade later, the case has been closed. The killer is behind bars. But then another young woman is brutally attacked and left for dead, and the MO is identical. He takes.Although the original t…

Book Review: A Whisper of Sorrows by J.D.Kirk

Image
I've read all of J D Kirks Jack Logan books and throughly enjoyed all of them. However, A Whisper of Sorrows is, in my opinion, the best yet. In this we see the return of Mr Whisper and let me reassure you, you are in for a real treat with this one. 
Blurb
The hunter has become the hunted.
Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan caught the twisted child killer known as Mister Whisper.
Two days ago, Mister Whisper escaped.
Now, Jack must track down the most ruthless enemy he has ever faced before he can strike again. But, after ten years behind bars, it isn't just murder that Mister Whisper has in mind.
It's revenge.
A Whisper of Sorrows is the sixth book in the DCI Jack Logan crime thriller series, all based in the Highlands of Scotland, and perfect for fans of Tartan Noir crime fiction.

My Thoughts

Well, when I finished The Last Bloody Straw, I was a wee bit peeved as it left with such a great cliffhanger and I thought I was going to have to wait for ages for the next one. Thankfully, A Whi…

My Life of Crime welcomes Amanda Brittany author of Her Last Lie

Image
Delighted to welcome Amanda Brittany to The Crime Warp. Amanda writes psychological crime thrillers. Her debut, Her Last Lie was published in January 2018, with all her eBook royalties being donated to Cancer Research UK in memory of her younger sister. Her Last Lie is presently being made into a film.

Amanda lives in Hertfordshire in the UK with her husband and two crazy, cute dogs. She's studied psychology & creative writing, and has a BA in English literature. When she's not writing, she loves spending time with her family and friends, travelling, walking her dogs, reading & sunny days. Although she also has a soft spot for snow, which features quite a bit in her writing!

She also writes psychological suspense novels as A J Brittany with Karen Clarke. Their debut The Secret Sister is out NOW, and they are presently writing book 2.

Amanda's fourth book I Lie in Wait is out in August 2020 and is available to pre-order. Tell the Truth and Traces of Her are out now. …

Press Release: NEW BLOOD 2020 – VAL MCDERMID TIPS CRIME FICTION’S RISING STARS: DEEPA ANAPPARA | ELIZABETH KAY | JESSICA MOOR | TREVOR WOOD

Image
The New Blood 2020 panel will be streamed on Saturday 25 July on harrogateinternationalfestivals.com

Harrogate, Thursday 18 June 2020: The undisputed ‘Queen of Crime’ Val McDermid has unveiled the hotly tipped ‘New Blood’ authors for 2020, showcasing the year’s best breakout crime writing talent:
-Deepa Anappara – Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line (Chatto & Windus) -Elizabeth Kay – Seven Lies (Sphere) -Jessica Moor – Keeper (Penguin) -Trevor Wood – The Man on the Street (Quercus)
Since 2004, the best-selling Scottish author of the Tony Hill & Carol Jordan series has curated an annual celebration of the most formidable debuts taking the crime and thriller genre by storm, with an invitation to join the line-up of the world’s largest and most prestigious crime fiction festival: Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.
This year, Deepa Anappara has been selected for her part coming-of-age, part detective mystery Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line, a heart-breaking and thought-provoking …